RSS Feed

Daily Archives: October 6, 2015

tussles with tech

Posted on
iMac.JPG

imac circa……old

Right now I am having a lot of problems with my iPhone. Well the problem doesn’t really lie with the chunk of hardware itself, rather it is this whole iCloud library and iCloud music business.

I pride myself on being able to figure out these issues with some troubleshooting and patience, but this has me clenching my teeth and making me want to go android. Seriously. It feels like every day I need to search the vast www for something resembling an answer and all that happens is that I trip over endless irrelevant forums. I don’t want forums. I’ll tell you why. It seems these are just places where every one tosses their opinions into the ring, sometimes stooping to insult the asker of the question. A quick trip over to the official Apple page of that subject provides a pithy short and rather obvious solution that really doesn’t answer the question.

The iCloud thing is really baffling and frustrating me. I delete a photo, it pops up somewhere else. Over and over again. I want a photo and it disappears. In populating my iTunes (again, because it completely crapped out), I couldn’t add my own music from CD’s I’d purchased and not only that it seemed I wasn’t allowed to add some music I’ld purchased from iTunes! I got a message saying something like “the itunes music could not be added to iPhone 5c”. Huh? So I went searching for an answer. Needless to say, I am trying to figure it out on my own. I already painstakingly went through all my music and added the appropriate genre and created smartlists. That took two days. Somewhere in the midst of that I thought my computer was toast, and I had to bring it back from the brink. This happening after a recent update. Now, unfortunately I may have to restore my phone, because of course I am having syncing issues and that is the only suggestion that really makes sense to me. It’s not really a big deal but it is an annoyance, and I’ll have to reinstall apps and arrange them the way I like and so on.

I have spent the equivalent of weeks on various and sundry problems. I’m okay with that because it seems that’s part and parcel of technology. I’ve always accepted that as part of the package, but right now it just seems it’s a constant. Will it be better if I get the iPhone 6 or will that present its own set of problems. I guess we’ll see.

The view from Koda's Korner

goings on at the House of Dog Bakery and more

My Wonderland. Mental Health Blog

Finding normality within Bipolarity. The inner musings of a chemically challenged manic-depressive. Mildly* asocial and a purveyor of awesome.

Renters At Risk

Standing up for a balanced system of renters rights in BC

Suzanne Askham

Writing and wellbeing

lookingthrougharay

Thought-thinking and Viewfinding.

Small House Society

Supporting the Small House Movement

Embellish This and That

Embellish every day moments and every day things to make Life spectacular!

lanaturafinefoods

La Natura Fine Foods Blog

Oh yes

DIY, home inspiration and stuff

Barefoot Lovey's Blog

A travelogue and personal journey...

At Home Organic

Our journey to a clean and organic lifestyle and why you should switch too!

Denise Bush's Photo Blog

photos and thoughts for sharing

My Foray Into Food Storage

A regular gal learning about Food Storage, Home Cooking, Canning, Gardening, and more!

The Backwords Writer

Writer Rosa Sophia

The Random Rant

Whatever I Feel Like Bloviating About, Whenever I Get Amped....