RSS Feed

Conversation on a sunny day

Posted on

I had that thing happen to me again today. I sat down for a bit in the sun to kill some time before an appointment. As I was sitting down the older gentleman beside me asked if I was Spanish. I countered with a simple no. He then asked me where I was from and I coyly replied with my birth city, Winnipeg. He looked back at me. I felt the time tick by, one beat two beats so I fessed up my ethnic origin (which is what he was clearly after) to which he had no response but he must have been okay with it because he launched into further conversation without comment.

He was a widower and his wife had died of breast cancer. He then told me he had battled cancer no less than 4 times, and surgery had been enough intervention on each occasion to beat it. “Asbestos”, he said had been the likely cause. He had worked in construction all his life after he emigrated to Vancouver from Winnipeg. “The weather, too…”. I nodded. We had a tacit understanding. Say no more. Any Canadian knows.

He was about to ask me something else when someone he knew happened along. It seemed like the conversation had come to its natural conclusion anyway so I stood to go. He waved a genial goodbye and continued his new conversation. It was probably more time than I intended to spend idly chatting to a complete stranger but the result couldn’t be faulted. It had put a smile on my face. That casual brushing up against humanity was definitely good for the soul.

About d.

a practical dreamer, a wanna be artist, a dabbler in writing, photography and whatever other shiny thing catches my fancy

Leave a comment

The view from Koda's Korner

goings on at the House of Dog Bakery and more

My Wonderland. Mental Health Blog

Finding normality within Bipolarity. The inner musings of a chemically challenged manic-depressive. Mildly* asocial and a purveyor of awesome.

Renters At Risk

Standing up for a balanced system of renters rights in BC

Suzanne Askham

Writing and wellbeing

lookingthrougharay

Thought-thinking and Viewfinding.

Small House Society

Supporting the Small House Movement

Embellish This and That

Embellish every day moments and every day things to make Life spectacular!

lanaturafinefoods

La Natura Fine Foods Blog

Oh yes

DIY, home inspiration and stuff

Barefoot Lovey's Blog

A travelogue and personal journey...

At Home Organic

Our journey to a clean and organic lifestyle and why you should switch too!

Denise Bush's Photo Blog

photos and thoughts for sharing

My Foray Into Food Storage

A regular gal learning about Food Storage, Home Cooking, Canning, Gardening, and more!

The Backwords Writer

Writer Rosa Sophia

The Random Rant

Whatever I Feel Like Bloviating About, Whenever I Get Amped....